Mamelodi Sundown Win ABSA Premier Championships

Mamelodi Sundowns have been crowned the 2019/2020 Absa Premier champions.
It’s the 10th title in the Absa Premier era of the PSL. No other team has won it more than four times during this era in South Africa.

After lockdown, bio-bubble and thirty games later Mamelodi Sundowns have crowned the Champions of the last edition of the ABSA Premiership, season 2019/20 season.

This is the tenth league title and the third one in a row.

The Brazilians showed resilience, commitment and fighting spirit to defend their league title after defeating Black Leopards by three goals to nil.

The game had it all, controversy, brilliance and jubilation. From the kick-off, the intention was clear and that was to score goals, the front three led by Gaston Sirino, Themba Zwane and Lebo Maboe

It was more than a dream for all the Madandawana fans
They are the fifth side to be at the top of the Absa Premier table this season:

But most significantly it was the final 18 minutes of the season. Moral of the story – how you finish matters more than how you start. Champion South Africa

Masandawana were far from their best this season but still managed to defend their title, win a domestic cup and are on course for a treble. Goes to show the winning mentality this team has. They don’t have to be at their best to win football games.

Absa Premier League 2019/20 table.

1. Sundowns
2. Chiefs
3. Pirates
4. Wits
5. Supersport
6. Cape Town City
7. Maritzburg
8. Celtic
9. Highlands
10. Stellies
11. Chippa
12. Arrows
13. AmaZulu
14. Baroka
15. Leopards
16. Polokwane

Mamelodi Sundown Football Facts!

Did you know Mamelodi Sundowns held the top spot in the Premier League for only 18 minutes all season?

Coach Pitso Mosimane stats:

  • He has most Trophies in the Absa Premier era
  • He has had 7 straight years of finishing in the top 2.
  • He is One of the two managers to successfully defend the league title three times.
Updated: September 6, 2020 — 11:28 am

Leave a Reply