Chelsea end City’ unbeaten run, Liverpool top the table , Man United and Arsenal win at home in English premier league. (Scoop EPL Review)

Hello and welcome to this weekend English Premier League summary on Scoop Trend.

Arsenal 1-0 Huddersfield

It took 83 minutes for Arsenal to find the back of the net through a sublime bicycle kick strike from the Uruguayan maestro Lucas Torreira to break Huddersfield’s resistance and secure victory for Arsenal at Emirates Stadium.

The visitors were resolute at the back, by constantly frustrating any move from Arsenal. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang beautiful control who chipped the ball to Lucas who was in six-yard, acrobatically scored the only goal of the match.

The Alexander Lacazette having scored a goal that was controversially flagged offside shortly before the first half.
The French striker was substituted by Henrikh Mkhitaryan, Lichtsteiner replaced by Alex Iwobi before half-time, with a slightly improved Arsenal scoring their 26th second-half goal of the season to extend their unbeaten run to 21 games in all competitions.

The win moved Gunners into 4th spot briefly but slipped down to
The Gunners briefly moved into the top four but slipped back to 5th after Chelsea and Tottenham picked up maximum points on Saturday.

Second-half surges and sublime skill

Spanish defender Nacho Monreal returned from a hamstring injury to replace Mustafi who limped off due to injury.

Terriers battle in vain

Huddersfield were resolute in defence but Arsenal dominated possession but constantly marking down the man on the ball this resulted to hard tackles by both sides, producing seven yellow cards before half-time.

Xhaka, Mustafi and Guendouzi were booked for simulation, which demonstrated the desperation from the Gunners.

The Terriers created many clear chances inside the box but failed to convert any. Alex clipped
over from the edge of the area in the first half and Laurent Depoitre having a late penalty appeal turned down after what looked to be a fair challenge by Sokratis.
Jonas Lossl had a fine match, making a superb diving stop with his left to deny a curling effort from Torreira.

Terriers team could not cause Arsenal’s defence many problems, with Huddersfield having scored the fewest goal in the league with just 10 goals in 16 games now.

Man of the match – Lucas Torreira (Arsenal)

Lucas Torreira’s shot could have been a screamer but a fine save from Lossl, kept the visitors in the match before the Uruguayan scored a spectacular winner.

Arsenal manager Unai Emery, speaking in post match interview: “It was a tough match, like many matches, and today it is important because we didn’t have rhythm but still won. I’m very happy with the result. It was hard for us to control the match today.

“Patience is the key word. I wanted us to win more quickly but we needed to be patient.

“We can improve more and today we spoke that we want to win matches with more control. But we are very competitive and showed character.”

Huddersfield manager David Wagner, “Obviously it is hard to take but I can see the positives. This was a proper fight which the players gave Arsenal. We did so many things right and limited their qualities. Unfortunately the result is what it is.

“We frustrated Arsenal, how the players did it tactically, and the shift they put in, was brilliant. Our tactics worked but unfortunately this goal was an unlucky one because the rebound and second rebound went to Arsenal.”

Arsenal incredible record in the second half:

  1. Arsenal have not led at half-time in any of their 16 Premier League games this season, drawing 12 and losing four.
  2. Emery’s Arsenal have made 14 substitutions before the start of the second half in their 16 Premier League matches this season, more than any other side and five more than Arsene Wenger made with the Gunners in the whole of 2017-18 (nine).
  3. Arsenal are now 21 games unbeaten in all competitions (W16 D5 L0); their longest run without a defeat since November 2007 (28 unbeaten).
  4. There were just two shots on target in this game, the fewest in a Premier League match since Watford v Stoke on 28 October 2017 (also two).
  5. There were seven cards shown in the first half of this match (seven yellows), the most in a Premier League first 45 since Chelsea v Aston Villa in January 2011 (also seven yellows).
  6. Aubameyang has been directly involved in 27 goals in his 29 Premier League appearances with Arsenal, scoring 20 and assisting seven

Chelsea 2-0 Manchester City.

Chelsea end Manchester City unbeaten run as they bounced back from the disappointment of losing at Wolves .
They ended Man city’s 21 game unbeaten run with a 2- 0 defeat at the bridge.

The defending champions dominated the the first half but failed to to capitalise on until N’Golo Kante fired high past Ederson from Eden Hazard’s pass in the 44minutes.

Chelsea came into the game in confidence and increased momentum in the second half as they secured the maximum points with 12 minutes left when David Luiz’s jumped t head home the second goal.

The win gives Sarri his first triumph over Guardiola, whose team are currently placed at the second position below Liverpool.

“If you think that, you didn’t see the game,” he told BBC Sport. “In the first half, we were exceptional.

“In general, we were fantastic. I don’t have any regrets. We came and showed we wanted to win. We created chances. They had one in 44 minutes and we conceded a goal. Sometimes that happens.

“It is emotional for me to see these players do what they do every three days. We were outstanding except for five to eight minutes.”

They missed the force and drive of the injured Sergio Aguero, and also Kevin de Bruyne’s creation.

Guardiola’s side were on another level to Chelsea for the first 44 minutes but when chances presented themselves, as they did to both Raheem Sterling and Leroy Sane, there was either hesitation or an inability to provide the final product that proved crucial.

City could not recover from Kante’s sucker punch, and it was Chelsea who were the more dangerous side in the second half.

Sarri has been criticized for his decision to use Jorginho as the hub of his team while pushing Kante into a more advanced role out on the right – why have the player many regard as the finest holding midfield player in world football and not utilise him there?

Kante’s outstanding performance, including the opening goal, was vindication for Sarri’s decision to play him in a new role this season.

The World Cup winner was magnificent, typically tireless but also getting into forward positions, most decisively when he arrived on the end of Hazard’s inviting pass to power a finish past Ederson that gave the Brazilian no chance.

Chelsea boss Maurizio Sarri: “I am very happy with the win because it is not very easy to win against Manchester City or Pep Guardiola. I am happy with the mentality of the team in this match.

“It is difficult for us to find motivation but when we have it, we are a very strong team. Today we played with a very good level of application, determination and the right level of aggression.

“My players have to continue like this. We started well in the second half and in the end we deserved to win.”

Guardiola has ‘no regrets’ after Chelsea defeat

Manchester City manager Pep Guardiola: “At this level and in the Champions League, the quality of the opponents means they only need a half a chance to score. That was the reality.”

Fortress Stamford Bridge – the stats

  1. Chelsea are unbeaten in 12 Premier League games at Stamford Bridge (W7 D5), their longest run without a home league defeat since a 21-game streak ending in August 2015.
  2. City suffered their first Premier League defeat in 22 games, since a 3-2 loss to Manchester United in April.
  3. They also conceded more than one goal in a Premier League game for the first time since that match.
  4. This was Sarri’s first victory over Guardiola, ending a run of three defeats against the Spaniard in all competitions (W1 L3).
  5. Guardiola has lost three league games against Chelsea, more than against any other side as a manager.
  6. Kante’s opening goal came from Chelsea’s first shot of the match in the 45th minute, the longest they have had to wait for a shot in a league game at Stamford Bridge since 2006-07.
  7. With four ‘goal involvements’ in the Premier League this season (2 goals, 2 assists), Kante has already equalled his combined tally from his previous two top-flight seasons with Chelsea (2 goals, 2 assists in 69 games)
  8. .Hazard has provided an assist in three consecutive Premier League games for the first time since December 2014.Hazard has now assisted a league-high eight goals in the Premier League this season double the tally he assisted in 34 appearances last season.
READ MORE:  Ivan Perisic: Arsenal want Inter Milan winger on loan

Leicester 0-2 Tottenham

Tottenham retained third place in the Premier League with a comfortable victory over a woeful Leicester at the King Power Stadium.

Tottenham played without their top duo Harry Kane and Christian Eriksen, both rested for the tough game ahead in Camp Nou .

The home team was impenetrable until Son Heung-min’s superb strike just before the break. The South Korea forward cut in from the right and hit the top corner with a curling left-footed shot from outside the area.

Dele Alli headed in Son’s cross after a counter-attack to put the game beyond Leicester. Spurs had dropped to 5th position after wins for Chelsea and Arsenal earlier on Saturday, but have moved back to 3rd above their city rivals with 36 points after 16 games. Spurs are five points behind Manchester City in second, with leaders Liverpool a point further in front.

Spurs boss criticises Premier League – what they said

Tottenham manager Mauricio Pochettino said;
 “A very solid performance, I’m very pleased.

“It was an unbelievable moment and a great goal by Son. It was very important for our confidence to go into the second half believing we could win.

“I am bit surprised the Premier League put us in the position of playing at this time because we travel to Barcelona on Monday and that will be so tough.

“We didn’t receive the help we needed from the Premier League but we are going to be ready to fight in Barcelona.”

“Lack of clinical edge cost us” – Claude Puel
Leicester manager Claude Puel,
 “We started very well and it was a shame because we wasted good opportunities without the good clinical edge, the right pass or the right control.

“With more calm and more quality we could have had more opportunities in the first half. We were disappointed about our lack of clinical precision with the ball.

“We deserved to compete to the end against this team because it was a good start and we had good play.”

Leicester lacked clinical skills in the final third. With Jamie Vardy missing his second straight game due to a groin problem, Kelechi Iheanacho was very poor and ineffective. He did not trouble Tottenham’s experienced centre-back pairing of Alderweireld and Jan Vertonghen.

The Foxes had more success early on playing through their quick, skilful wingers Demarai Gray and James Maddison, who were able to play in full-backs Ricardo Pereira and Ben Chilwell as they made surging runs on the overlap.

Yet the final cross or cutback was lacking each time, while Vertonghen also made several crucial interceptions and blocks.

Substitute Rachid Ghezzal made some impact after replacing Iheanacho on 56 minutes, but could not beat Hugo Lloris with a curling effort late on after cutting inside Harry Winks.

Leicester were largely solid in defence, with captain Wes Morgan making a brilliant saving tackle to deny Alli as he ran through on goal.

Eriksen and Kane did both enter the game in the final 25 minutes replacing Moura and Son respectively.

Stats.

  1. Tottenham’s tally of 36 points from 16 games is their best ever start to a Premier League season. Indeed, only twice before have they had a better total after 16 matches in a top-flight campaign (46 in 1960-61 and 37 in 1956-57 – based on three points for a win).
  2. Since they returned to the Premier League in 2014-15, Leicester have conceded 22 goals against Tottenham in the competition, more than they have against any other opponent.
  3. Dele Alli’s goal was his 50th in all competitions for Tottenham. Since the start of 2015-16, only Son Heung-min (52) and Harry Kane (117) have more for the club.
  4. Alli became the third player to score 50+ goals for Tottenham Hotspur in all competitions since 2015-16, alongside Son and Kane. No other Premier League club has more than two players who have done so in this time.
  5. Son has scored three goals in his last four league games. He had not netted in any of his previous 15.
  6. This was the first time Tottenham had started a Premier League game with neither Christian Eriksen nor Harry Kane in their starting XI since 8 March 2014 against Chelsea, a 4-0 defeat under Tim Sherwood.

The crucial Champions League group game away at Barcelona on Tuesday may be the reason Pochettino made the selection.

Man United 4-1 Fulham.

Fulham boss Claudio Ranieri described the match as “11 lambs against 11 wolves”.

Rampaging Manchester United recorded their biggest Premier League win of the season as they swept aside Fulham.

The victory moved the Red devil to 6th while Fulham languish at bottom.

“In the first half we were shy, we were waiting,” said Ranieri after his fourth match in charge. “Why? Why were we waiting? The first half was a warm-up.

“I want my team to play and fight for every single ball. We have to be stronger, more confident in our qualities.

“In the first half it was 11 lambs against 11 wolves. The wolves ate the lambs.”

The hosts took the lead after 13 minutes when Ashley Young scored superbly by curling the ball into the far corner.

Marcus Rashford set up Juan Mata for United’s second, before Romelu Lukaku finished from close range from Mata’s low cross.

Substitute Aboubakar Kamara pulled one back with a penalty after he had been fouled by Ander Herrera, but Ranieri’s side were reduced to 10 men, when Andre-Frank Zambo Anguissa was dismissed for two bookable offences.

England striker Marcus Rashford sealed United’s victory with a powerful strike from a tight angle to beat Sergio Rico.
Rashford got the goal he deserved in the 82nd minute to complete a fine evening for United and Mourinho.

It was the first time this season the José Mourinho’s side had won by a three-goal margin in the local league,

The last time they won by three goals margin in the league was on 15 January, with a 3-0 home defeat of Stoke.

This was a vital win for United after a derby defeat by Manchester City on 11 November that preceded three successive draws in the league – against Crystal Palace, Southampton and Arsenal.

That had increased the external pressure on Mourinho, though his agent said on Friday the Portuguese was “very happy at the club and the club is very happy with him”.
Paul Pogba was on the bench, as he was against the Gunners, while forward Anthony Martial was missing because of a hamstring injury.

Juan Mata, Romelu Lukaku and Marcus Rashford all got on the scoresheet for Manchester United

A lot of work for Ranieri to do

For Fulham, the opening half highlighted their defensive frailties. They are the only team not to have kept a clean sheet in the top flight this season, and have now conceded at least three goals in a match in seven of 16 games.

Ranieri will be worried by the ease with which his side were carved open for United’s first three goals.
He made two big decisions at half-time replacing top goalscorer Aleksandar Mitrovic and captain Tom Cairney with Luciano Vietto and Kamara and was rewarded with a much better second half performance.

The Coach will face a very difficult task to tighten his side up in defence as they look to avoid an instant return to the Championship.

Mourinho reaches his half-century of United league wins – the stats

  1. Mourinho recorded his 50th Premier League victory as United manager in his 92nd game.
  2. Fulham have conceded in 20 consecutive top-flight games their longest run without a clean sheet in the top tier.
  3. Fulham have conceded 40 goals in their opening 16 Premier League games this season; only Barnsley in 1997-98 (43) have conceded more at this stage of a top-flight campaign since the start of the 1965-66 season.
  4. Fulham have lost 22 of their past 24 away matches against United in all competitions (won one, drew one) – their only win in this sequence was a 3-1 victory in the Premier League in October 2003.
  5. Rashford (one goal, two assists) has been directly involved in three goals in a single Premier League game for only the second time in his career and the first since his debut in the competition versus Arsenal in February 2016.
  6. Mata is only the third Spanish player to both score 50+ goals and register 50+ assists in Premier League history, after Cesc Fabregas and David Silva.
  7. Young ended a run of 39 games in all competitions without a goal for United, since netting twice versus Watford in November 2017 – 375 days ago.
READ MORE:  Cardiff Striker Emiliano Sala On Board A Missing Plane – French Police

Other impressive players are Diogo Dalot and Juan Mata, but Marcus Rashford leaves with a goal and two assists to his name. The England striker had gone eight games for club and country without a goal before his well-deserved late strike

Manchester United manager Jose Mourinho
 “The first half was really good. We gave no chances to Fulham. We were strong, aggressive and intense. At times it was beautiful football. The first half was perfect.

“The second half was Ranieri’s fault. He made two changes that improved his team and gave us problems that we didn’t have in the first half. I also think there was some fatigue in some of my players. A few factors made the second half not as good as the first.

“We were intense without the ball and with the ball. Without the ball we pressed, we kept Mitrovic away from goal. With the ball it was simple, one or two touches. We were really good.

“We needed it. The last three matches we didn’t lose, but didn’t win. Now we have two away matches, then two at home. Let’s see if we can get more points from those matches.

“The players have shown they can be a better team than they are. When there is solidarity in the team, everyone giving their maximum, you attract more positive things.”

Man Utd 4-1 Fulham: ‘

Fulham manager Claudio Ranieri
 “The second half was much better but I have to consider if that was a down from Manchester United because they were winning 3-0 or we made a good performance.

“Go, play football. Then, if they score, it is normal. In the second half, we did. Why we didn’t in the first half, I need to speak with my players.

“The response in the second half was positive. We played with more intensity, we were hungry, everything better than the first half.”

Mohamed Salah scored a hat-trick against Bournemouth to send Liverpool to the top of the table then handed his man-of-the-match award to team-mate James Milner.

Former England midfielder Milner became the 13th player to make 500 Premier League appearances when he captained Liverpool against the Cherries.

When handed his award after the game, Salah opted to give it to Milner he told sky sports”I will not take it.

“Congratulations on his amazing career. He deserved it today. I hope we’ll win something together.”

Salah scored his second hat-trick for the club since arriving from Roma 18 months ago as Jurgen Klopp’s side went one point clear of Manchester City, who later suffered their first top-flight defeat of the season as they lost 2-0 at Chelsea.

Salah was in an offside position when Roberto Firmino hit a 30-yard shot that home keeper Asmir Begovic carelessly pushed out in the direction of the Egypt forward. He finished clinically and his eighth top-flight goal of the season was allowed to stand to break the deadlock in a game the visitors dominated from the start.

Liverpool forward’s second was a composed finish after driving at the Bournemouth defence, before Steve Cook backheeled the ball into his own net while attempting a clearance to make it 3-0.

Salah then completed his hat-trick after rounding Begovic, cutting back to beat the Bournemouth keeper for a second time and poking the ball past Nathan Ake on the line.

“Whatever you do in a football game, you need somebody to finish it off and what Mo did with his two goals in the second half was exceptional,” said Klopp after his side’s fifth straight league win.

Liverpool have taken 45 points from the past 51 on offer and are unbeaten in 17 league games in a run that stretches back to last season.

The wins keep coming for Liverpool – and the goals are flowing once again for Salah.

Salah goes into Tuesday’s Champions League must-win group game with Napoli having marked his return to the starting line-up by emphatically ending a three-match run without a goal.

After shrugging Cook off the ball following substitute Adam Lallana’s long punt forward, Salah dribbled into the box before tormenting Begovic and slotting home.

After the game, Bournemouth boss Eddie Howe described Salah as “one of the best in the world”.

“Salah looked very good, razor sharp and we struggled to handle him. He played more centrally and did well from that position,” he said.

Howe’s team are regularly praised for producing attractive, progressive football – but their record against the top-six teams is extremely poor.

Since the start of 2017-18, Bournemouth have lost 15 times in 17 games against Manchester City, Liverpool, Arsenal, Chelsea, Tottenham and Manchester United.

The bad news is they still have to face Tottenham and United both away in the league this month.
Callum Wilson absence due to hamstring injury created vacuum in the front line of the home team.

There was one nervous moment when Milner’s misplaced first-half pass required Alisson to dash out of his goal to head clear and in doing so, taking out Joshua King.

But Milner was otherwise a reassuring presence in the back four, demonstrating his value to Klopp with his ability to move from midfield to full-back.

Salah was simply too good for Bournemouth. He looked like the imperious Salah of last season as his pace, movement and quality finishing gave Liverpool the cutting edge their overall dominance deserved

Bournemouth boss Eddie Howe: “I have many complaints. Salah was offside for the first goal. It has a huge bearing on the match. We were fine until that moment. It changes the game.

“It was difficult for us losing Callum Wilson. We have to deal with players who aren’t here and can’t use that as an excuse. We still had a competitive team on the pitch.

“The first goal is key and then we made some mistakes at bad times.

“At half-time I thought we were well in this match. I expected a very different second half. We just had to manage the scoreline. It is a tough league. We are disappointed as it’s another game that has gone away from us.”

Liverpool manager Jurgen Klopp: “It is clear that everyone knows about the quality of Bournemouth.

“We had to keep the ball and win the ball back as quickly as possible. We did both very often but not always as they had their moments too, of course.

“I don’t know if it was offside. I’ve not watched it back but we improved in the second half and controlled the game. It was really nice. Mo Salah scores that goal [the second one] and I don’t think many do in that situation.

“The third goal was again brilliant. It is really cool and it helps of course! We played nice football and the players we brought on did really well.”

  1. Since the start of 2015-16, Bournemouth have scored more own goals in the Premier League (eight) than any other side currently in the top flight.
  2. Liverpool have accrued 42 points from their opening 16 league games of the season, their best tally at this stage of a top-flight campaign.
  3. Howe has lost more games in all competitions against Liverpool than against any other side (eight).
  4. Begovic has made eight errors leading directly to a goal in the Premier League since the start of 2017-18, more than any other player.
  5. Bournemouth’s Jefferson Lerma has been shown 22 yellow cards in the Premier League since the start of last season, more than any other player in Europe’s big five leagues (38 apps).
  6. Salah’s opener was his 40th goal in his 52nd Premier League appearance for Liverpool, the fastest a player has reached that milestone in the competition for the Reds (Fernando Torres 60, Daniel Sturridge 64).
  7. Since the start of last season, only Lionel Messi (43) has scored more league goals in the big five European leagues than Salah (42).
  8. Salah is only the second Liverpool player to score a competitive hat-trick against Bournemouth after Harry Chambers in the FA Cup in January 1927.
  9. Alisson has remained unbeaten in his opening 16 league matches as a Liverpool player, which is a club record as it moves him ahead of Javier Mascherano (15, set in November 2007).

.

Updated: December 9, 2018 — 8:41 am

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *